Daily Archives: June 24, 2010

Sleep deprived

I’ve slept an average of 4 hours and 20 minutes since Sunday, way below the minimum 7 hours. Unsurprisingly, I felt irritable the entire week. Waking up became an unbearable chore, the hour long commute to Makati – a Calvary of intermittent naps.

Needless to say, my workouts have suffered quite a bit from my lack of shut-eye. Instead of maximizing the 1 1/2 hour long sessions, I cut down on the training volume and intensity just to be on the safe side. After all, a sleep deprived athlete is an injury prone athlete.

This reminded me of my college days, when even an hour’s worth of sleep did not deter training. But then again, sleepless nights did not happen for 5 consecutive days, in light of flexible college schedules. Work has been less merciful. The sheer distance and the exponential worsening of traffic between Quezon City and Makati eats up a considerable amount of my time.

Hence, I could not train as much as I wanted or sleep adequately. My post-college training routine is a compromise between sleep, workouts and the occasional night out.

Wimbledon Epic: A 10-hour tennis match

This is crazy. This is EPIC!


After two days and 10-hours play, John Isner and Nicholas Mahut’s 1st round Wimbledon match was stopped as darkness set in. The game was suspended, with the fifth set tied 59-59. It is the longest tennis match to date, beating the Santoro – Clement French Open match (6 hours, 35 minutes) in 2004.

The following quotes from tennis’ top players were funny (from BBC):

Novak Djokovic: “I’m amazed they could both hold their serve that comfortably all day. It’s unbelievable. Maybe they should have agreed to play a tie-break at 50-all!”

Roger Federer: “It’s absolutely amazing. It’s a very special match. This is unheard of in our game. I don’t know if I was crying or laughing, it was too much. I can relate to it to some little degree – but this is beyond anything.”

Read Tom Fordyce’s BBC blog for a more in-depth, entertaining read.

Source:

BBC

Video Credits:

ESPN Sports Center

Photo Credits:

BBC

Page last updated at 23:25 GMT, Wednesday, 23 June 2010 00:25 UK

John Isner and Nicolas Mahut