Sleep deprived

I’ve slept an average of 4 hours and 20 minutes since Sunday, way below the minimum 7 hours. Unsurprisingly, I felt irritable the entire week. Waking up became an unbearable chore, the hour long commute to Makati – a Calvary of intermittent naps.

Needless to say, my workouts have suffered quite a bit from my lack of shut-eye. Instead of maximizing the 1 1/2 hour long sessions, I cut down on the training volume and intensity just to be on the safe side. After all, a sleep deprived athlete is an injury prone athlete.

This reminded me of my college days, when even an hour’s worth of sleep did not deter training. But then again, sleepless nights did not happen for 5 consecutive days, in light of flexible college schedules. Work has been less merciful. The sheer distance and the exponential worsening of traffic between Quezon City and Makati eats up a considerable amount of my time.

Hence, I could not train as much as I wanted or sleep adequately. My post-college training routine is a compromise between sleep, workouts and the occasional night out.

3 responses to “Sleep deprived

  1. 93alannews June 25, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    Wow, i actually thought the minimum was like 10 hours so i guess i get a pretty much good sleep every night haha!

    I like how you’ve cut your training down as a result of what your body is telling you! Don’t think of it as a loss, because once you get some good hours in the bed, you’ll be back up there!

    • hurdler49 June 26, 2010 at 1:20 AM

      You’re lucky to get 10 hours, man.

      I hope I really do get some much-needed shut eye. But then again, I can’t train as much as I want to because of my work.

      • 93alannews June 26, 2010 at 7:25 AM

        yeah you’re right, there are a lot of things preventing training, although i’m only 16 yo and i just finished school so i can really focus now for a few years while im at my college :)

Leave a Reply

