Daily Archives: June 20, 2010

Rained Out

I train like a man possessed on weekends, in light of my packed weekday schedule. I went to Ultra yesterday afternoon to do some running drills, hurdle drills and light 5-step clearances over hurdles. I originally planned to head out to Ateneo for the last long run of the foundation phase and to Celeb for circuit weights.

The weather, unfortunately, had other plans.

I should have read the signs! When I was at the Tandang Sora – Commonwealth intersection heading southbound, the afternoon sky was filled with those malevolent nimbus clouds.

I did get an hour’s worth of drilling time in Ultra.

 

Yeah! UCS hurdles and Rusty Nelco hurdles!

 

By the time I’ve set up the hurdles for my 5-step workout, it started to drizzle.

 

Calm before the storm

 

I wanted to run through the rain. I did a few warm-up sprints to increase my core temperature. The rain, however, increased in intensity. I was tempted to proceed with my hurdles workout. After all, I’ve been through worse (check out the 2007 National Open/POF.) But then again, I had to err at the side of caution. I’m still rusty as hell.

 

Taking shelter

 

So I took shelter underneath those bloody archery tents obstructing the 110m high hurdle starting line! No offense meant to our national team archers, but what’s the matter with these people? Don’t they have archery ranges to train on? But hey, I’m thankful for the shade.

I actually thought that it was just an isolated rain shower.  10-15 minutes of hiding out under that tent, I grew impatient. The rain wasn’t going to end soon. So I packed my bag, headed out to the grandstand and took a shower. I was pissed off at having my weekend workout cut short so I headed home – clad in my damp clothes and wet shoes.

The rain shower was intense. It didn’t abate until I got home.

Reposting: A Son’s Desire For His Mother

Guys, read the following Facebook note.

Chambers beats Lemaitre!

32-year old Briton, Dwain Chambers, ran a superb 100m, stopping the clock at 9.99s at the European Team Championships in Bergen, Norway. Chambers, banned for two-years after testing positive for performance-enhancing substances in 2003 edged out European Junior record holder Christophe Lemaitre (10.02s), who in turn, shaved off 0.01s off his previous best. Chambers is in fine form this year after bagging the 60m dash gold at the 2010 World Indoor Championships in Doha.

The 20-year old Lemaitre is the real deal. From 10.04s in 2009, he lowered his European record to 10.03s a month ago. Now, if he can only get a good start, a sub-10 clocking is surely in the offing. I guess when you’re 1.89m (6’2) tall, those long limbs could get in the way. (but hey, Asafa Powell’s taller at 6’3 and he has a superb start).

More links:

IAAF Article

Telegraph article

European Athletics – Event Report (100m dash)

European Athletics – Euro Team Championships page

Video credits:

http://www.youtube.com/user/HIFKetc

Photo credits:

http://www.iaaf.org

Track Beauty of the Week: Sina Schielke

Sina Schielke is this week’s track beauty!

The German sprinter had a successful juniors career. Schielke once placed 2nd in the 200m Dash at the 2000 World Junior Championships. Although Schielke hasn’t translated her success as a junior into the seniors level, her best times of 11.16s (as a 21-year old!) in the 100m dash and 22.78s (20-years old)  in the 200m dash remain competitive.

Let the German sprinter compete with Filipino college-level male athletes and she’ll probably place at the Top 3 with those times!

Photos from estb.msn.com, leaked-photos.com, sina-schielke.de, insideplays.com and diga-media.com

Years 2001 and 2002 were the best seasons for the Herdecke-born speedster. It’s a pity, really, that Schielke never improved beyond the high quality performances of the aforesaid years. Her tremendous potential was never fully-realized, as she crashed out in the heats of the 2004 Athens Olympics.

Before her career on the track drew to a close, her best finish in a major international competition was sixth place at the 100m dash semifinals during the Munchen European Championships. Schielke also won silver with the rest of the German 4x100m relay squad at the same event.

Article by Joboy Quintos

