Daily Archives: June 18, 2010

Mo Greene’s spikes are on fire!

I don’t really like brash sprinters, but Greene’s post-race antic really got me laughing.

New Router

Our 4-year old WRT54G Linksys router conked out two days ago because of a power interruption. Being the internet junkie that I am, I was distraught – the withdrawal symptoms were starting to show (okay, I’m exaggerating).  I hate being out of the internet loop. Hence, I bought a replacement router (WRT54GH) this afternoon from PC Express:

Thank heavens Wireless G Routers are cheaper now than they were 4 years ago. I got the unit for Php 1,900.00. Not bad for a trusty piece of hardware. By the way, I’m amazed at how small this router is. It’s about half the size of my old router. Such is the progress of technology.

Next on my troubleshooting list is my worrisome graphics card (causes my PC to freeze up every once in a while).

Photo credits:

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/APAC/en/products/WRT54GH

10-for-10: Ato Boldon talks about a memorable silver medal, tights and DMX!

The great Ato Boldon answers the 10-for-10 quiz portion!

Ato Boldon has four individual Olympic sprint medals to his name. Only two other track athletes, the legendary Carl Lewis and the distinguished Frankie Fredericks, have won that many medals. Boldon was the 1997 World Champion in the 200m dash. His best performances (100m – 9.86, 200m – 19.77s) are pretty much entrenched at the Top Lists of both of his events. Furthermore, Boldon had run 28 sub-10 100m races, third all-time behind former 100m dash world record holders, Maurice Greene and Asafa Powell.

The now retired Ato is a politician in his native Trinidad and Tobago and works as a track & field analyst for U.S. television.

1. How did you get started with athletics?

Playing soccer, was discovered in NY by Joe Trupiano at Jamaica High School in NY at age 16

2. What’s the most memorable moment of your track career?

Silver medal in the 4x100m relay in Edmonton at the World Championships in 2001 with a very young group of upcoming Trinidad and Tobago juniors, including a 16 year old anchor named Darrel Brown, making him the youngest male medalist ever at Worlds at the time, and giving T and T its first short relay medal ever. They have gone on to win 3 more at Championship level since that one in the 8 years since.

3. What’s your life-long dream?

Flying myself around the Caribbean in my own plane.

4. Let’s lighten up a bit! What would you rather wear and why? Short shorts or tights

Tights if I have to, short shorts are never ever acceptable.

5. If you could be a Glee cast member, who will you be? And what song will you sing?

I hear about Glee all the time, but have never watched and I am not even remotely interested. Hear that? That’s the sound of me getting closer to 40.

6. How I Met Your Mother or F.R.I.E.N.D.S.?

Friends don’t let friends watch F.R.I.E.N.D.S

7. What’s the best pump-up song of all-time?

Anything by DMX in his prime. (pre-crack-head DMX)

hurdler49: take a look at the following cool clip of Ato and Mo Greene rapping to Bone Crusher’s “I Ain’t Never Scared”:

8. If you could spend the rest of your days at any place in the world, which would you choose?

Either Tobago or Monte Carlo, Monaco

9. Name three things you just can’t live without.

Internet, TV, Music

10. Fill in the blanks: I’ll run an ultra marathon just to go out with _________.

Salma Hayek.

Thanks for answering, Ato! You’re one cool guy!

Sources:

Wikipedia

IAAF.org