10-for-10: Danielle Frenkel דניאל פרנקל talks about late starts and breaking records

Danielle Frenkel דניאל פרנקל answers the 10-for-10 quiz!

Frenkel is Israel’s top high jumper. Originally training to be a professional dancer in her teenage days, the Israeli gradually made the big shift to athletics. Her breakout year came in 2010, as she padded her lifetime best by 11 centimeters. En route to rewriting the Israeli national records (1.91m), Danielle also won her first ever national title.

Read: “Track Beauty of the Week – Danielle Frenkel דניאל פרנקל “

Danielle with her 2011 Israeli “Female Athlete of the Year” trophy. (Photo from Assaf Yekuel)

At the 2010 European Championships in Barcelona, Frenkel leaped 1.92m in qualifying, but finished in 12th place at the final. She fared much better at the European Indoor Championships the next year, jumping over 1.94m (new Israeli indoor record) in qualifying. Danielle placed a hard fought fourth (1.92m) in the final.

Click this link to visit and like Danielle’s Facebook page

A knee injury had temporarily put Frenkel’s high jumping aspirations on hold. After undergoing surgery early in 2012, Danielle is on the fast track to full recovery – and to greater heights.

1.) How did you get started with athletics?

At school, I have always stood out [in] sports. My first high jump competition was in a district meet when I was 14 and [I]won 1st place . My coach today [Anatoliy Shafran] spotted me and told me I am very talented, and with practice I can jump higher. Back then, dancing had a greater appeal to me.

Only 5 years later, a phone call from my coach who offered me to participate in a meet, and the following Israeli championships, where I took 3rd place, made me realize that high jumping is my real passion.

2.) What’s the most memorable moment of your athletics career?

The most memorable moment was in Israel’s 2010 championships. When I broke the Israeli record by 3 cm and became the first Israeli woman who ever jumped over 1.90. I felt so good that I finally proved my real potential.

3.) What is your life long dream?

My long dream is to reach my full potential, and I feel I have a long way to go.

4.) Let’s lighten up a bit! What would you rather wear and why? Short shorts or tights?

Short shorts for sure.

5.) What is your favorite sports movie?

Berlin 36.

6.) What’s the best pump-up song of all-time?

Black eyed-peas : Pump it.

7.) If you could spend the rest of your days at any place in the world, which would you choose?

I traveled for 4 months in central America and saw some amazing places. My answer would be any place, as long as I have my loved ones with me.

8.) What do you do in your free time?

Now I study for law and business degree. But I live very close to the beach. I like to go there and relax with friends.

9.) Name three things you just can’t live without:

My family and my boyfriend, chocolates, and [taking a ]bath.

10.) What advice would you give to the young athletes of today?

Be patient, explore all kinds of sports until you find the one that fits you and you love the most. I was a volleyball player and a ballet dancer. Only at the age of nineteen I realised that high jump is my destiny.

Sources:

Danielle’s Wikipedia profile

IAAF biography

Additional Links:

Danielle’s Facebook Page

All-Athletics Profile

Leave a Reply

