Cut Loss

I’ve always been a fierce competitor, in most aspects of life. Quitting isn’t my thing. I don’t usually try new things, but when I do, I give it my wholehearted attention. The decision to stop hurdling wasn’t an easy one. It took two long years for me to realize that at 26-years of age, chasing after a far-flung dream – soldiering on despite the odds – would soon outlive its quixotic luster.

I came across an interesting article on knowing when to quit. According to the Harvard Business Review: “Setting goals and sticking to them is important. But you should also occasionally reevaluate your goals. Quitting isn’t fun, but sometimes it’s necessary.” Dorie Clark gives three reasons on when to quit: (1) When your goals have adverse consequences, (2) When your goals impede other objectives, (3) When your goals are no longer appropriate.

Read: “Knowing when to quit”

Read: “When to Give Up on Your Goals”

I still the love the hurdles and athletics. But then again, my approach to pursuing athletics excellence is overall, 24/7 immersion. When I train for a competition, I dream about the race at night and at day, going over the motions and flaws of my hurdling. With my full-time job, a part-time hurdling effort just isn’t enough. Losing (at the expense of my career, social and family life at that) is never fun.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my job as a bond trader, it’s to learn how to cut your losses

Leave a Reply

