Athletics and Belle & Sebastian

A few years back, I was searching the old Gnutella P2P network for track & field songs. I stumbled upon Belle & Sebastian’s “The Stars of Track & Field.” Frankly speaking, I did not like it. I found the vocals and the guitar strumming quite puzzling. The song was too laid back – too deep, even!

For years, the song languished in my hard drive. I couldn’t bear to listen to it, finding the music and lyrics boring. Soon enough, I’ve developed a liking for the Scottish band. The turning point came when I listened to “Write About Love” (the actress Carey Mulligan was featured on vocals). Hell, it was catchy! A lot more fun-sounding than”Stars of Track & Field.”

I’ve downloaded a bunch of Belle & Sebastian albums a few days back, stumbling upon another athletics-oriented song, “The Loneliness of a Middle Distance Runner.”

Years after I ignored the band, I can now say that I’m a convert. The soft vocals, the oft-poignant lyrics and the mellow melodies had that hypnotic feel. It was like listening to the mythical Pied Piper of Hamelin, so to speak. A Movies and songs about the sport, save for the iconic “Chariots of Fire” and “Hey There, Delilah,” are a rarity. Belle & Sebastian has two – not just one! – songs about the sport that we love.

From budding running enthusiasts, grizzled athletics veterans to middle distance runners, you might want to include the aforesaid songs in your playlists!

2 responses to “Athletics and Belle & Sebastian

  1. Glenn T March 19, 2012 at 2:06 PM

    Love B&S. The Tigermilk and If You’re Feeling Sinister albums are classics. Stars of Track Field has always been one of my favorites — glad you like it.

    –> Big B&S fan

Leave a Reply

