Dauntless

People say that practice makes perfect. This certainly applies to sprint hurdling.

To successfully sprint over the barriers, the athlete should have respectable flat out speed and a certain level of technical prowess. More importantly, one must be fearless. I’m the type of athlete who puts a premium on working hard. Since I wasn’t blessed with natural hurdling talent, there were no shortcuts. I had to spend hours honing my hurdling form. As I mastered the technique, my confidence – and my being fearless, grew.

But there’s the rub. Gone are the days when I could spend three hours on the track. With my 8am to 5pm job, my training time has been reduced to the bare minimum. I’ve been spending less and less time over the hurdles, thanks to the distance between the track, my home and my office. This, in turn, has sapped a good measure of my confidence. Fear started to set it. Until I regain my spunk and swagger, I could not possibly better my modest achievements of the past years.

Once a hurdler feels fear at facing the barriers, everything suddenly becomes problematic. In my opinion, being dauntless defines the hurdler from other athletes. This courage, this seemingly wanton disregard for caution is what makes the event glisten and sparkle. The lack of fear, coupled with the proper technique and speed, makes hurdling akin to an art form.

Leave a Reply

