Oasis – Morning Glory

I love this song. I used to listen to this upon waking up for an early morning session or for a competition. Nowadays, track meets are rare commodities. And I almost always have to drag myself out of bed for work.

I discovered this song way back in 2006. “Morning Glory” was part of the soundtrack of the movie “Goal.” The opening line of “all your dreams are made, when you’re chained to mirror and the razor blade” is an apt description for the rise of the film’s protagonist – and to my own circumstances as well!

The choice of music is of utmost importance, now that I train alone. The song almost always dictates the tempo of a training session. It can rouse my senses from the lethargy of routine. In this day and age where I’m susceptible to slacking off, many a time have I been saved by my iPod shuffle.

I’ve always said that I’m thankful for being given another shot at my athletics career. Never mind the fact that domestic track & field is a fringe sport no one cares about. Simply put, I’m ecstatic – and somewhat relieved – to live an athlete’s life again.

Leave a Reply

