First Session (26 November 2011)

I was supposed to formally start training on the 5th of December. The desire hit the track again was just too much ignore; hence, I began my training program a week early. After packing my sports stuff the night before, I was momentarily stumped by the magnitude of my decision.To prepare for a competitive hurdles race is no joke, especially when one trains alone.

As all things in life, it takes commitment. But since I’m self-coached and I train solo, to stay focused is a herculean task.

I hardly felt rusty at all since I stayed physically active throughout off-season. In fact, I found the speed endurance workout a bit easy, thanks to the lung-busting basketball games I’ve played. Psychologically, I was in tip-top shape too. The time I spent away from the track has done wonders to my state of mind.

Amidst all the challenges of training solo, one develops a keen sense of self-awareness. I’ll do my utmost best not to repeat the mistakes of the past.

Leave a Reply

