Picking up the Pieces

I’ve been under the friggin’ erratic Philippine weather the past few weeks. It all started at the latter parts of August. Fresh out of a basketball game, my friends and I decided to start the long weekend by a celebratory drinking spree. When I got home, my throat ached. I spent the next couple of days watching the Daegu World Championships and nursing a terrible bout with cold and cough.

Feeling pumped-up and inspired by the world champs, I went back to training a bit too early. My illness relapsed and I was forced to rest it out. Another basketball game wreaked havoc into my recovery – for the second time. At this point, I was overly pissed. My motivation has been sapped. Although I felt fine and physically well, I was in a bad state psychologically.

I’ve finally recovered from illness last weekend. Gradually, I’m picking up from where I left off. Since I have no athletics meet of note to join in the remaining months of 2011, I’m taking it easy.

Leave a Reply

