Hurdle Drills

After the debacle that was my comeback race, I vowed never to crimp on hurdle drills again. In Bacolod, I seemed to float over each barrier – a far cry from the days when my snappy hurdle clearance saved me from many a race. Such a result was unsurprising. I drastically cut down the time I spent doing hurdle walkovers and plyometric hurdle drills, in the interest of saving time. The result of that race reiterated the fact that in hurdling, as in life, there are no shortcuts.

Instead of quick, once-in-a-blue moon drilling sessions, I adhered to a strict schedule of focused, consistent reps. In each session, I cleared an average of 260 to 280 hurdles on a given hurdling day. Once I got into the training groove, I jacked up the once-a-week sessions to twice in a typical seven-day cycle and opted to clear intermediate hurdles, instead of the lower variant. I have yet to try clearing the tall barriers yet, but I have a good feeling that I’ve regained a good measure of my lost hurdling quickness. I’ve adapted well to the increasing progression of difficulty. I actually feel good doing these drills that a heightened sensation of awareness ensues after each great session.

I just found out that the PATAFA Weekly Relays will commence this Saturday. There shall be no hurried revisions to my training program. At the rate my training is going, I’ll be in tip-top shape by mid-October. As my high school coach used to say, “it takes time to cook good food.”

Leave a Reply

