My First Diadora: The Velox

The demise of my Nike Air Sky Raider saw me canvass prices for a new pair. I still had my trusty one-year old Umbro Club Runner, but in light of my routine, having a two pairs of shoes is a must.

After my hurdles/sprint workout in Rizal this afternoon, I headed out to a warehouse in Shaw Boulevard (beside the EDSA Central Mall. You won’t miss the big sign). Lo and behold, the shoes are indeed cheap – cheaper than a few hundred pesos from the stores and malls that carry Umbro, Diadora and Reebok. Among the various models, the Umbro Club Trainer, the Diadora Velox and yes, the ever-reliable Umbro Runner made it to the top of my list.

 

I chose the Velox since it’s around PHP 200 cheaper than the aforesaid Umbro models. I shelled out PHP 1,271.00 or approximately USD 30 (net of the 25% discount). This is the most cost-effective running shoes I’ve bought since the days of the One-Thousand-Peso-Saucony sale! I found the design of the Diadora running shoes more dynamic than the straightforward, utilitarian British kicks. The sleek lines, the shiny chrome fabric and the blue streaks enhanced the Velox’s appeal.

More importantly, the sole of the Velox felt thicker and softer than the Umbro’s (the Club Runner, initially, had a hard feel. It took a few months for the Umbro’s to feel comfy), with adequate cushioning on the heels. Even if I am not a distance runner, I put a premium on sole softness, due to the high impact exercises involved in my track & field training. The medium width of the Velox matched perfectly with my feet.

In terms of aesthetic quality, I find the shoe comparable to the upper-middle tier offerings of the big shoe companies – but at a fraction of the price. Due to the running boom, it’s hard to find trusty kicks below PHP 1,500.00. I have yet to give the Velox a stress test (give me a few weeks and I’ll come out with a performance report), but the prospects are looking good.

This is the first time I’ve bought a Diadora. A cursory Wikipedia search revealed that the Italian company first became known for its reliable mountain climbing boots. The company soon branched out to skiing and eventually running, athletics, football and tennis in the 1970’s. It turned out that Diadora’s athletics pedigree pre-dated its more widely known football branch (with the latter no-doubt inspired by the exploits of the great Italian sprinter Pietro Mennea).

The athletics background of Diadora explains the smooth feel of its running shoes. Needless to say, this track & field junkie is happy with this good buy!

One response to “My First Diadora: The Velox

  1. Pingback: The Diadora Ghost II « Hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World

Leave a Reply

