Some Pre-Season Thoughts

I’m on the fourth microcycle of the six-week GPP program. I’ve been relatively more disciplined the past few weeks, despite the lazy urges. It seems that I have adjusted fully to my Han Solo routine. Gone are the reluctance so obvious in the training sessions from a year ago. Thanks to my successful participation (hey, I completed the race!) at the 2011 PNG, I’ve regained some sort of swaggah. It feels great to hurdle again!

I never thought I’d utter the words Sub-16 again. Ever since the latter parts of 2005 until UAAP 2008, I never went above sixteen seconds again. But then again, I’ve lost so much speed and technical proficiency during the two years I spent on the sidelines. To run a fifteen second hurdles race – and eventually, a fourteen second clocking – is the foremost of my goals.

I’ll also compete in the 100m dash by September. I’ve long since wanted to test my mettle against the sprinters, but I never did find the time under my old college schedule. Hence, this GPP would have to be more than sufficient to enable my legs to last the intense 11 seconds of a century dash. My last 100m dash race was way back in 2003, during a dual meet with CSB. If my memory serves me right, I clocked a measly hand-timed 11.9s. During the 2006-2008 seasons – my best years – I figured that I could have run in the mid-11’s, considering my low 15-second PB’s.

The prospect for the second half of the 2011 season is exciting. I’ve never felt this motivated in years. Let’s see how things go.

Leave a Reply

