Arrivederci, Asics Lite-Ning!

This morning, I went to the trusty Mr. Quickie shop  have my Asics Lite-nine patched up. In the past few months, I’ve had the good ole sprinting spikes repaired thrice, in the hopes of prolonging its useful life. Despite (or because of!) all the patchwork, the spikes still look quite beat-up.

I bought the pair four years ago and used it as my competition spikes in my last season as an Ateneo student-athlete. It lay dormant in my room during the time I spent temporarily retired. I kept it in tip-top shape. In the time I spent away from the sport, I knew deep down that I’ll be donning these cleats yet again.

     

We’ve been through a lot, my spikes and I. I shelled out a good Php 6,000.00 for the pair, asking my friend Jeric to buy it in the U.S.

View the photos from my Multiply account here

High quality sprinting spikes are hard to come by in local shores. I can still remember the first time I wore the shoes to training. The fit was a bit light, so I had to use thicker socks. Nevertheless, it felt tailor-made for my feet. It was love at first sprint. The Asics Lite-ning, as the name suggests, is the lightest sprinting spikes I’ve ever worn.

Back then, I was still recovering from the psychological trauma of a broken arm, sustained during hurdles training. Having my feet shod in one of the best sprinting spikes ever made did much to boost my confidence. Soon enough, I surpassed my pre-injury competitive level. During my first and only foray under the 15 second barrier, I wore my trusty pair of Asics Lite-nings.

When I trailed in fourth place at my final UAAP, I also wore those magical blue shoes.

As I embarked on the comeback trail, my spikes have been a faithful companion. Despite it being worn out, I always get an adrenaline rush feeling its firm spike plate supporting my foot. Each team I wear the pair, I feel like running a 10-second 100m dash and a 14-second 110m hurdle race. For me, the Asics Lite-ning is more than just a shoe.

As a cardinal rule, my competition spikes have a lifetime of a year at most. After which , the worn out shoes will be used solely for training. With its usable life spanning a good four years, I can honestly say that every single Peso I spent on my Lite-ning’s was money well spent.

One response to “Arrivederci, Asics Lite-Ning!

  1. Pingback: The Saucony Showdown « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

Leave a Reply

