Training from Home (18 January 2011)

I was having second thoughts whether to train or not last night. It was 8:30 PM and I had just come from the hospital to visit my dad. My right foot was a tad bit swollen, thanks to a minor skin-deep wound. Although I slept for a good 7 hours the previous night, I was still feeling drained from work and the commute home. Besides, hospitals really do sap whatever motivation I have.

The main challenge of being one’s own coach (one’s own master!) is the tendency to slack off. Thankfully, the TV was tuned to the ongoing Australian Open, with David Nalbandian facing off against Lleyton Hewitt.  Watching those racket-wielding, modern-day gladiators infused much needed enthusiasm.

Since I got home relatively late, I decided to just settle for a home workout – opting for a 15 minute run and plyometrics session. If I had gone to the gym, a good amount of my sleeping time would have been eaten up. Time, indeed, is a valuable commodity for this part-time athlete. Back in the 2007-2008 track season, I used to train for as long as humanly possibly, in light of my 6-unit masteral course load. For the entire duration of that season, not once have I lost sleep. Those days are long gone!

Like I always say, I have to make the most out of the circumstance. In fact, I’ve never been happier at being given a second shot to do what I love best.

Road work: 15 minute run

Plyo’s:

Scissor jumps (static)

Tuck jumps (static)

Leave a Reply

