Core Strength (5 January 2011)

I’m gradually shifting from vacation mode to training mode. I went back to the gym last Wednesday, opting for a straightforward, core-intensive workout. Since I absolutely hate running on treadmills (especially when there’s no mirror in front and no gorgeous ladies beside me!), I settled for the good ole stationary bike. It takes twice as long to warm-up on these contraptions, but the change in setting is refreshing.

I must admit that I had neglected my core last season. I breezed through my core routines (bridges, Swiss ball exercises, lumberjacks, etc.), opting to cut corners in my workout. After all, one of the best facets of my body is my above average core strength – back in college, 3 years ago! Since I almost always train alone, it took quite some time before some well-meaning fellow track athletes pointed out an unwanted deficiency in my sprinting form. Instead of keeping a stable center of gravity, shoulders and hips throughout the sprint, I tended to wobble from side-to-side.

A few years back, such a glaring error in form was unthinkable, in light of the time I spent doing running drills and core strength exercises.

Hence, I fought off the urge for a quick fix. Instead of doing merely 2 sets, I did three sets of bridges (with 20kg and 10kg plates) for 45 seconds to a minute. Afterward, I did simulated lumberjack exercises using a 25-lb dumbbell. It was tiring but definitely worth it. At the end of my core routine, I felt like walking around topless amidst the crowded Boracay beach (or maybe not)!

Core workout:

Bridges

Lumberjacks

Plyo’s:

Lateral hops

Modified box jumps

Gym workout:

Push-ups with clap + DB Chest Fly

Deep squats

Reverse barbell row + Single-leg shoulder press

Arabesque

2 responses to “Core Strength (5 January 2011)

  1. Scientist Runner January 10, 2011 at 7:17 AM

    Have a great year ahead bro, both the person and the blog!!

Leave a Reply

