Calm Before the Storm

My preparations for ABL 2011 did not go according to plan. I originally wanted to start intensive basketball training by September to October 2010, but the unexpected resumption of the PATAFA Weekly Relays necessitated a drastic change in plans. Instead of winding down my track training, I shifted into high gear, to make it in time for Relays. Furthermore, an injury to my finger during one pick-up basketball game limited my hoops time to a bare minimum.

I ended my competition-less 2010 athletics season last 19 Dec 2010. Since then, I’ve trained sparingly, opting to rest my tired body after the psychologically-grueling (but physically-lax) 10-month season. But then again, one doesn’t lose much physical fitness by staying relatively sedentary for 2 weeks.

By the time I was ready to hit the gym and, until the next three months at most – the court, both mind and body felt invigorated, in light of the time I spent away from training.

My 2010 ABL Season saw a modest improvement in personal statistics. From measly averages of 2.2 points, 1.7 rebounds and 0.17 blocks (in 6 games) in 2009; my 2010 stats rose to 4.3 points, 6.7 rebounds, 1 steal and 0.83 blocks. The increase in stats resulted from key absences of certain vital cogs due to injuries and academic requirements. I had to step-up.

But then again, basketball is not an individual sport unlike track & field. Despite the modest improvements in my numbers, personal statistics hardly matter when your team fell from Champions to the cellar-dwellers in a year’s time!

As such, we’ve made several key arrangements this season to duplicate our 2009 dream Championship run. Our vital cogs are now injury free. With the addition of another bruiser and the expected consistency of AHS 4D 2003’s aces, we won’t get manhandled like last year.

Leave a Reply

