Coping (12 December 2010)

I didn’t get to train much the past few days. I went out on a blind date on Wednesday, I took the day off on Thursday and I went to my friends’ wedding on Friday. I was supposed to resume my regular routine last weekend, but since my mom went to the province, I had to stay at home with my dad.

I must admit that all these distractions and interruptions had sapped a major chunk of my juice. Ever since late October, I have been hard pressed to take in some measure of consistency. In any other circumstances, I would have been utterly pissed off. Needless to say, this isn’t just any other real-life hurdle.

Family comes first.

Hence, I have to make do with what I have. In an effort to salvage what was left of my competition sharpness, I worked out twice yesterday. I ran around the subdivision shortly after lunch. I was unable to go to my usual haunts since I had to be near my dad. It was a lackluster workout since I couldn’t really get into the zone whilst training at the subdivision. I missed the regularity of the oval and the familiarity of the Ateneo campus. Ironically, in training terms, I fell more at home in Ultra and Ateneo than in my very own subdivision!

My mom got home earlier than usual that night. After a light dinner, I headed out to the gym for a much needed weights/plyos session.

If I’m not mistaken, this week’s PATAFA Weekly Relays includes the 100m dash. It’s about time for me to compete!

Home workout:

Light run

5x50m uphills

Abs

Gym workout:

Core

Jerk

Single-leg Shoulder press

Standing long jump (dynamic)

Deep squats

Leg curls

Various ab exercises

Leave a Reply

