Deficient (4 December 2010)

At first, I was euphoric seeing the first recorded clips of myself three stepping. It has been so long since I had someone to tape my training sessions. Well, that’s the major consequence of training alone. Thanks again to Paco Razon and Chert Chu!

Read “Return to Moro (4 December 2010)”

The lower quality clip from the link above was deceptive. The grainy pixels seemed to hide the glaring deficiencies in my hurdling technique and my utter lack of speed. When I watched the video clip below, my heart sank at the Herculean task of building my hurdling base from the ground up (again).

In certain aspects of my life, I am a perfectionist. Athletics and the hurdles are prime examples. I am intensely competitive.

Even though I was relatively cold when the aforesaid video was taken, the flaws in my form were evident. The starts was slow. I tend to wobble from side-to-side whilst sprinting (an evidence of sub-standard core strength). My trail arm flails to the side before clearing the hurdle. My hip action isn’t quick enough.

I shall take a break during Christmas vacation and resume my training as soon as 2011 starts. Fixing the aforesaid technical deficiencies will be high up on my athletics goal wall.

Video credit:

Paco Razon

Leave a Reply

