Back (24 November 2010)

I went back to training last night, after a 6 days of forced rest. I felt in shape and, of course, well-rested. When I got to the gym, I realized that I left my iPod Shuffle at home. Without my musical companion, I was hard-pressed to get into the zone, in light of my family’s off-track woes. The complete absence of music at the newly-renovated gym exacerbated the struggle.

The silence was, as the cliche goes, deafening.

Nevertheless, the workout was of the highest quality. I had just about the right level of aggression in me, as shown by how fiercely I went through the cleans. As I went about doing the Olympic lift, I was deeply grunting throughout – aiming to execute the explosive movement as efficiently as possible. And it felt great doing those familiar exercises again.

I also did a few sets of plyometrics, just to wake my dormant legs. Since I had more than my fair of rest the past few week, my legs felt truly fresh.

Moreover, I’m back up to 150 lbs – Antonio Margarito’s fighting weight – from around 146 lbs a week earlier.

It was a short yet intense workout. It’s good to know that I’m still in shape.

Leave a Reply

