My First UAAP 200m dash

I stumbled upon the following clip a while back. I couldn’t stop laughing at how slow I was! It was taken during my rookie year in the UAAP Men’s Division. A day after finishing 3rd to the last (17.46s) in the 110m high hurdles (my supposed best event!), I ran the 200m dash.

My 18-year old self ran next to the future Philippine 100m/200m dash record holder, Ralph Soguilon. In 5 or so strides, Waldy overcame the stagger. For a split-second, we were running abreast (at the bend!) before Soguilon switched on his afterburners to the demolish the shell-shocked field!

I wound up 3rd to the last (24.85s) in a field of 24 in the 200m dash qualifying round! Waldy probably ran something in the 21-second territory!

Needless to say, I sucked big time!

Leave a Reply

