The Woes of a Myopic Athlete

I have bad eyesight. My prescription runs up to 425 to 475. Myopia and astigmatism are the culprits. I’ve been wearing glasses since the 6th grade. Although it’s bothersome to wear spectacles every waking hour, I’ve gotten used to my condition.

Back in high school, I played basketball with my regular glasses, unmindful of the potential damage to my eyes. Needless to say, I’ve banged up quite a few eyeglasses during my forays into the covered courts.

During my short stint with the high school B-team, I had no other choice but to use those thick, embarrassing Rec Specs mantis shades, in light of my father’s opposition to contact lenses. Since he pays the bills, I just had to endure the social suicide of wearing those unwieldy eye wear! Such was my love for the hoops game!

As I went up to the officials table during one of the summer league games, I was asked if I was about to go swimming. It was truly embarrassing to wear these hideous goggles!

My shift to track & field from a contact sport was a blessing. I’ve always worn my glasses in all my races, hurdle races included. I competed through various race conditions with my trusty pair. The most difficult times was when I competed in torrential rain, back in the Nationals of 2007. I had to wipe off the accumulating water from time-to-time. Interestingly, the I didn’t have to wear any straps to keep my glasses in place – despite the explosive movements of crouch starting and hurdle clearances.

I became known as the bespectacled hurdler! The glasses became my trademark.

The end of my varsity days freed up a significant amount of my time. For the first time in years, I had the flexibility to join the alumni, school-based basketball leagues I missed to protect my body from unwarranted injuries.

In my first ABL game, I was prevented by a thoughtful referee from using my regular glasses – the pair I’ve used in many a hurdle race. I was blind on the court, causing much disorientation. I could barely follow the action, relying on my instincts because of my dearth in vision. Hence, I bought the most sturdy pair of cheap horn-rimmed glasses. I had plastic lenses fitted into the frame and bought an elastic strap to keep the improvised sports eyewear in place. And it worked! Until a bad elbow broke the plastic frame. I acquired a similar pair to replace the shattered one.

It was more decent looking than my Rec Specs! And cheaper too at Php 2,000 for the two pairs of glasses that I had.

I was seriously considering acquiring a pair of prescription sun glasses for track training. But my cash flow problems necessitated some belt-tightening. Last Sunday, however, I stumbled upon a familiar brand of protective eyewear – Rec Specs! I was intrigued by the new, flashier designs.

Indeed, these frames rival more expensive brands like Oakley and Rudy Project. At around Php 4,200 to Php 5,000 per pair, it’s a cost-effective alternative. The designs meet ASTM F803 protection standards, making it ideal for basketball games, when I’m not using it for track practice.

I’ll scouring the stores for these souped-up Rec Specs in the coming days, hoping to find a real good bargain.

Additional links:

More designs here

One response to “The Woes of a Myopic Athlete

  1. Pingback: Looking Through Old Lenses « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

Leave a Reply

