Vision Quest

While driving towards Moro the other night, with my Ipod shuffle in random, I listened to one of the most workout-conducive Journey songs, “Only the Young.”

The first time I heard that tune was through the wrestling (not pro-wrestling!) cult movie “Vision Quest.” The opening scene of Matthew Modine running around the streets of Spokane, Washington evoked memories of my own five-year stint as a college-level track athlete.

At that time, I was in the doldrums, having lost my final collegiate sprint hurdles race. To highlight my plight as a bum, I was watching an average of 2.5 movies a day and a novel every two weeks. I was unemployed and depressed; I hated it.

Now that I’m chasing dreams on and off the track, I’ve found new meaning from the song.  Despite the pangs of quarter-life, I’m happy that I’m physically active again – dreaming again. Whereas before it meant defeat, today it beckons to a far more optimistic message of youthful exuberance and the promise of tomorrow.

I’m still quite far off from being a real man. My life’s direction is still one big blur. But, I’m getting there one step at a time. Maybe this quarter-life crisis is a modern-day version of the Native American concept of a vision quest. The latter certainly evokes a more positive vibe than the former – and sounds far more hopeful.

I’m on a vision quest.

Video credits:

mliu92

One response to “Vision Quest

  1. Pingback: A Good Buy « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

Leave a Reply

