Setting Direction (23 August 2010)

I trained only twice the last week – mediocre weights session and an abbreviated long run. I couldn’t seem to find the groove, being too grief-stricken with the loss of my faithful furry friend. In time, a sense of normalcy ensued. It was inevitable to start training again.

I took it easy during track training, not wanting to risk injury. It felt good doing sprints again. I’ve missed the pain of lactic acid!

To be honest, I contemplated ending the 2010 track season altogether (what track season? I don’t even have a track meet to train for!).

Thankfully, I didn’t. The week-long lay-off gave me time to ponder the direction of my training for the rest of the year.

As the ABL season nears, I’ll be getting as much hurdles training as possible, whilst balancing it with basketball scrimmages. I want to eke out decent numbers in the upcoming basketball season. I’ve already recovered a good chunk of my athleticism during my track & field heyday. I just need more exposure to the hoops game.

By September, I intend to train over the hurdles again. I have much confidence in my physical fitness now. I just need to prepare myself mentally for the task at hand. I won’t go full throttle for the remainder of year to prevent burnout. Technical proficiency and building a sound competition base are my foremost goals.

I’ll take a much needed break from track training in December to prepare for the ABL hostilities – and for the National Open in the summer of 2011!

Track workout

Running drills

3x200m (80%, 3 minutes rest)

4 responses to “Setting Direction (23 August 2010)

  1. pinoyhalfmiler August 24, 2010 at 8:45 AM

    Hang in there my friend. The colgate meet this year may be in jeopardy. But look beyond this year. I think change is about to come in Philippine Athletics. Aim for the National Open in May. Set your training schedule towards peaking in that month.

    If you have the resources, participate in the small meets within SEA region, then have your vacation there afterwards. Keep the faith!

  2. Adrian August 27, 2010 at 4:18 PM

    Hello man,

    What is your training phase at the moment? and will you be running any of the upcoming open meets around SEA this year??

    • hurdler49 August 27, 2010 at 4:41 PM

      Hi Adrian,

      I’m supposed to be at the competitive phase, according to my original training schedule. But then again, I have no meets to train for here in the Philippines.

      No SEA meets for me dude. My last competition was back in Feb 2008.My PB’s are way below Southeast Asian standards. I need more time (and money!)!

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

