Blog Stats as of 7 Aug 2010

Some stats for my 2 1/2 month old blog!

I didn’t expect much followers for this blog, in light of the local disinterest in track & field. Hence, I write about the things that I’m most passionate about -the hurdles, the sprints, the jumps, my training – with nary a thought on attracting legions of followers.

The most viable path to take in promoting a sports blog would be to write about basketball and running. The most popular local blogs and websites (Fire Quinito, Bleachers Brew, The Bull Runner, Run Rio and Takbo.ph) features either of the two.

The first few months of my new blog’s existence saw daily page views (WordPress-generated. Shows the number of views per post) averaging around 60 to 65 hits a day. The most popular entries, without a doubt, are those about gorgeous female track & field athletes (a topic I am most interested in!). Although my most popular post to date is the one I made about the Big Blue Run: Uphill Challenge (343 views. Talk about the running boom!), the three posts I wrote about upcoming Russian long jump star Darya Klishina (three posts with a total of 552 views), Lolo Jones (245), Sina Schielke (164) and Leryn Franco’s 10-for-10 quiz (148) are gradually catching up!

The most popular post not related to a gorgeous female track athlete are (1) Ato Boldon’s 10-for-10 (119), (2) Rizal’s renovation (115), (3) my blog’s “About Me” page (79) and (3) a technical analysis comparing Lolo Jones and Susanna Kallur (80).

The serious track stuff I post outnumbers the testosterone-laced posts by a ratio of around 7-to-1. But then again, sex sells. I have no control whatsoever on what people around the world google! And I can’t help but share my admiration for the multitude of fair track & field maidens all over!

7 Aug 2010 is the most active day in my blog to date. Total page views for was at a massive 499 – thanks to those Darya Klishina search strings! – a far cry from the previous high of 162 (8/2/10).  This surge in viewership enable my blog to climb the Philippine Top Blogs, Sports & Recreation category rankings. From a lurking around the 49 to 55 range for the past two months, the blog is at an unprecedented 35th, with 652 unique, weekly views. This is light years away from the top legitimate sports blog in the category, Fire Quinito, whose unique weekly hits run up to the 7,000 ++.  But hey, at least this blog has finally overtaken most of those pesky running sites!

Since most of the stuff I write are about foreign track & field, it’s no surprise that less than half of my readers originate locally (40%). The rest hails from abroad, with the United States taking a lion’s share (20% ). The other countries at the top of the rankings are Britain (6.1%), Germany (3.5%), Canada (3.3%) and Sweden (2.2%). In fact, I have more viewers from the Scandinavian countries than our closer Southeast Asian and East Asian neighbors, highlighting the fact that Europe is indeed the hotbed of athletics (and that most of the track beauties Í’ve posted so far are European! I’ll be scouring the web for more Asian, African and Arab beauties).

The blog has 2,939 unique hits (according to the hit counter I installed a week after I started the site). By WordPress’ count, total page views are at 5,135. Not bad!

All my posts featuring American and European track & field come naturally since the dominant forces in the events that I like best hail from those countries. In the coming months or so, I’ll be exerting more effort into churning out some more local stuff.

Leave a Reply

