New Kicks: Umbro Club Runner

To save my trusty Nike Air Skyraider from constant wear and tear, I bought a second pair of kicks from a sports shop in Glorietta. What a bargain! I got a pair of Umbro Club Runner-A’s for a good Php 1,750 (roughly USD 38).

Since the longest distances I run are 3k’s (during base training), I don’t put much emphasis on running shoes. I just look for a pair that has a respectable brand name (Adidas, Nike, New Balance, Saucony – in order of preference), good cushioning and value for money. When shopping for trainers, I scour outlet stores and discount sport shops to get a good bargain. I love the snug fit and the stylish three stripes of Adidas, but then again, the high cost of the German brand is prohibitive.

The Umbro’s are quite decent. The shoe is lightweight and flexible. I don’t mind the classic, no-frills design, so long as the pair provides ample support. Even though my feet pronate inward, I’m not particular with the technical specifications of the shoe (since I don’t usually do long runs and my feet have compensated for the pronation!). The Umbro’s seem like a durable pair, for less than two thousand bucks!

The only drawback is the lack of support at the ankle area. Unlike most other running shoes, this pair lacks a couple of shoe lace holes near the tongue, making the fit too loose for my tastes. To remedy this minor irritation, I had the guys from Mr. Quickie punch extra holes.

4 responses to “New Kicks: Umbro Club Runner

  1. mark November 19, 2010 at 1:38 PM

    i also bought the same pair of shoes in their warehouse in EDSA Central sir. I got it for PhP 1427. You’re right, it’s lightweight, durable and very affordable. The downside would be its lack of ankle support but since i read your blog, i’d visit MR. QUICKIE this afternoon. Thank you for the suggestion.

    • hurdler49 November 19, 2010 at 9:06 PM

      One other downside is that it’s uncomfortable to use for running. Perhaps I didn’t just get to break it in properly. But then again, I use this pair just for gym workouts and plyos.

      Thank you for reading my blog.

  2. Pingback: My First Diadora: The Velox « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

  3. Pingback: The Diadora Ghost II « Hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World

Leave a Reply

