Limits (28 July 2010)

Went to the good ole Moro Lorenzo track last night for some recovery sprints. I was still exhausted from Monday’s track seesion and Tuesday’s intense plyometric/gym session. My legs felt somewhat heavy while warming up, like huge Acacia stumps! In addition, cheap Umbro running shoes I bought that afternoon felt a little loose, not as snug as I want my footwear to be.

Nevertheless, I felt great. Even if I slept an average of 4 hours for the last three nights, I was pumped up for the task at hand. Perhaps it was the liberating experience of NOT listening to my trusty iPod Shuffle, for a change. The dearth of music enabled me to focus more on the ambient sounds nearby – the squeaking basketball shoes, the dribbling and the sounds of youthful exuberance.

Come to think of it, I’ve been using my iPod constantly for the past four years, especially during the latter two, when I left the college team and trained solo. I did not miss the discomfort of those white ear buds.

When I did my warm-up sprints, my left hamstring felt tight. I thought about cutting short the track session, to err on the safe side. But hell, underneath my tame, domesticated salary man image is the vicious albeit dormant go-getter. Back in college, I relished the chase to reach the limits of my bodily endurance.

I’m not a masochist, mind you, but it was time to swallow those fickle inclinations and feel pain.

I ran 4 200’s at 75% effort. Boy, did my legs feel heavy. I was fearful for my oft-injured legs, but then again, what do I stand to lose? My next track meet is around 10 months away for screaming out loud! So I went through the solitary trudge, weaving my way around the multitude of joggers running indoors, taking shelter from the rain.

It wasn’t the best of training sessions, but I sure as hell felt alive.

Track workout:

Running drills

4x200m sprints (75% effort, 5-6 minutes rest)

One response to “Limits (28 July 2010)

  1. pirieandrew August 1, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    i felt the same thing just doing 4x120s on Thursday, it shows my body is closer to 30 than 20 now even though i like to think otherwise

Leave a Reply

