Beautiful Stranger (27 July 2010)

As much I’d like my motivation to stay intrinsic, I can’t deny the fact that those fair maidens give quite a boost in strength. Back in college, I was a driven student-athlete – driven by an internal, superhuman desire to be the best hurdler in the Philippines, and by my gorgeous teammates (I’m referring to women here) and fellow athletes (again, girls)!

Celebrity Sports Club’s weights room can be likened to an all-boys school. Members of the fairer sex, much less those aesthetically endowed, are a rarity. To highlight the dire situation in the gym, the handful of ladies I’ve encountered can be counted on the fingers in my hand, with much to spare.

There’s this one girl who works out quite fiercely. She usually does long runs, core workouts and the occasional machine weights. I haven’t seen her in months. Since I’ve been practically lifting with guys the past two months or so, I was on the lookout for a female face not beyond the age of thirty-five.

Lo and behold, she came to the gym last night. While I was warming up, the short, porcelain-skinned lass even took the treadmill right beside mine.

This gave a much needed boost. Instead of the usual hour and a half, my training session lasted two hours. The quality of the lifts and the plyometric exercises increased as well. Instead of the usual sluggish feeling, I felt rejuvenated and pumped-up, akin to my intense college days.

I’ve never been known for my “game.” In fact, I have no game – an aspect I have to work on, mind you. Until I muster enough courage to actually start a conversation, she’ll remain just that – a beautiful stranger.

Plyometric workout

Dorsiflexion hops (3×10)

Lateral hops on cone (3×10)

Scissors (3×10)

Gym workout

Core

Power cleans (3×10)

Bench press + Pull-ups (3×10)

Deep squats + single leg shoulder press (3×10)

Leg curl + leg extension + bicep curl + some tricep workout (2×10)

Leg lifts with dumbbell (3×10)

Abs circuit (2×10)

Video credit:

madonnahub

2 responses to “Beautiful Stranger (27 July 2010)

  1. pirieandrew August 1, 2010 at 3:41 PM

    Nothing wrong with fear of approaching women. I usto have that in hs, maybe fear of rejection? im guessing your the kind of guy who needs to be introduced to a girl rather than making the first move. I went through a phase where i would ask out 10 girls, and kind of got used to rejection, but ended up just laughing it off. Eventually you get used to them saying no, but eventually someone says yes and its worth it.

Leave a Reply

