Drummond’s “I did not move!” fiasco

A certified classic. John Drummond and Asafa Powell gets disqualified from the 100m dash qualifying heats in the 2003 Paris World Championships. The IAAF had revised the old false start rule, allowing only one false start for each race. Any subsequent infractions would merit an instant disqualification.*

Apparently, Drummond and Powell went below the allowable reaction time of 0.1s, according to the sensors employed by the starters. See for yourself. Drummond’s wild protest is amusing albeit immature. But then again, I feel for the guy.

See for yourself and be the judge:

* This rule has been revised again at the beginning of the year. The IAAF now imposes a strict, no-false start policy. The instant one prematurely leaves the blocks, one is disqualified. Personally, I prefer the old rule.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: