Hurdles Training (3 Jul 2010)

Trained in Ultra this afternoon with a friend, a refreshing change from my Han Solo routine. I had my friend Mark take videos of my light 5-step, low hurdle workouts.

My most recent hurdling footage was taken more than two years ago – quite dated, mind you.

It felt great clearing the barriers. Gone were the hesitation and fear evident in my past training sessions. The lead leg action was snappy enough, with the subsequent trail leg clearance just as explosive. Although my trail arm still retains the bad habit of jerking (instead of simply lying still, then lightly swinging up as the lead leg clears the barrier).

Despite the relatively low height of the hurdles I cleared (3rd hole), I’m quite happy at my progress, in light of my infrequent hurdles training. I guess when you’ve spent hundreds (or thousands?) of hours hurdling, the fundamentals never really fade away.

Here are the grainy clips from my trusty Nokia 6680 phone camera:

Track Workout:

1-step hurdle drills

5-step low hurdle clearance

4x100m (85% effort, 1 minute rest between)

8 responses to “Hurdles Training (3 Jul 2010)

  1. ping guerrero July 3, 2010 at 9:58 PM

    naks! lupet papi. galing nung kumuha. sana mas malupet na phone na lang yung ginamit para mas malinaw.

  2. 93alannews July 4, 2010 at 1:43 AM

    what were the 85% times for 100m?

  3. Tish Castillo November 17, 2010 at 3:42 PM

    Yes, you have officially inspired me to try high hurdling chorva!!! :) hahahaha. are there hurdles that are mini-sized??? for those with not so long legs…

Leave a Reply

