Badass Plyometrics!

I’ve always loved doing plyometric exercises. The sheer exhilaration of split second flight never fail to get my endorphins pumping.  In the two years that I’ve been away from the sport, I rarely did plyo’s aside from my pre-ABL conditioning programs.

Incorporating what I’ve learned from the knowledgeable coaches that I had the past years (special mention to Eski Ripoll. His plyo workouts are intense), my current repertoire prominently features plyometric exercises. Last Saturday, for instance, I did a full set of light, plyo exercises (regular bounds, single leg bounds, Russian stops and pikes)  a good 15 minute  after my 2.5km long run.

Once I progress out my short, conditioning phase (I injured my hams 2 months ago) and shift into event-specific training, I’ll be upping the ante of my plyo workouts. These fabulous, physically-taxing exercises will be combined with an equally strenuous regimen of Olympic lifts, core strengthening exercises and event-specific drills and workouts.

If you’re looking for a good source of badass plyo’s, check out Simon Hunt’s Youtube channel. It has all sorts of fun workouts. The athletes are of top caliber too and a joy to watch – unlike some of the crap posted on Youtube.

Here’s my favorite exercise from the informative channel:

Leave a Reply

