No Excuses

I did a 15-minute run and circuit weights on Monday night. My back felt funny afterward. Might have strained it a bit. Luckily it got better in time for another long run/weights session on Wednesday. This time around, it was my recently-recovered left hamstrings that felt tight.

I had no other choice but to cut short the workout, and a planned drills session tonight. I’ll be resting my mildly injured leg for two days, hoping to begin building the technique base for my hurdling.

My ungodly schedule is killing me. The travel time between Makati (where I toil) and Quezon City (where I live) is so long that it eats up what little free time I have left at night. I start my day at around 5:15 AM, leave the house by 6:00 AM. Since EDSA traffic exponentially worsens, the practical thing to do is to leave as early possible. The 1 hour commute rules out a possible morning training session (since I have to be at work by 8:00 AM).

It gets worse in the afternoon. Despite leaving the office at precisely 5:00 PM, it takes 1 hour and 45 minutes, on average, to get home. After a light snack and a light shower, I pack my bags again and drive to Celebrity Sports Club (15-20 minutes away, depending on the traffic) for gym sessions or to Moro Lorenzo Sports Center (20-30 minutes away) for indoor track sprint workouts.  To do hurdle workouts, I need to go straight to Ultra from Makati to save on travel time.

I end each training night at around 9:00 to 9:20 PM., feeling drained from all the physical exertion and enormously hungry since it’s way past my dinner time.

Frankly speaking, I hate distance between work and home. Back in college, I had the luxury of time (and daylight) that I do not have now. But then again, work is a reality everyone has to contend with.

With this grueling schedule, I’m having a hard time getting at least 7 hours of sleep a day. Hence, recovery between training sessions becomes even harder.  Sometimes, I just feel the urge to give this all up – to enjoy the good life.

My reply to that urge:

3 responses to “No Excuses

  1. pinoyhalfmiler June 3, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    Same story here bro. Though I live relatively near Makati (Kapitolyo Pasig). My prayer is that the Makati Oval will finally be opened to public this year. Will save a lot of travel time to do track workouts.

  2. Pingback: Vicious cycles and familiar faces « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

Leave a Reply

