With A Little Help From My Friends

It’s surreal to think that only a month ago, I actually thought about retiring from the hurdles once and for all. It was just too time-consuming, training for the 110 high. The fact that I work out alone multiplies the training difficulty a hundred fold. I could not bear the thought of another lonely hurdling session at the track, surrounded by hordes of faceless joggers. Besides, there aren’t that many local competitions catering to post-University athletes. At 26 years old and an athletics nobody, it’s not like I’m on the fast track to Olympic glory.

Simply put, there is no future for me in the hurdles.

After months of contemplation, I felt resigned to a life without the 1.067m high barriers. It was like a big rock was lifted from my back. Gone were the pressures of being a self-coached, solitary athlete. Although I planned to continue competing in the sprints (to stay fit and to maintain my competitive edge), such a move would have constituted a life-changing decision.

Thankfully, I did not yield.

It was due to the prodding of my former high school teammate, Zed Paz, and a bad ass dose of extrinsic motivation. He was at the nascent stages of a comeback himself. Zed needed a training buddy. Since I was, technically, still preparing for the sprints (and the ABL season), I tagged along. The turning point came while watching UAAP 74 Athletics. The fires of passion were re-ignited, in a strange twist of deja vu.

A few days after the conclusion of the meet, I went back to serious hurdles training. Even if I hadn’t trained over the hurdles in a month and a half, I was in tip-top shape, thanks to my no-nonsense conditioning regimen. Getting back in prime hurdling condition has been a breeze.

The familiar faces on the track did wonders to my motivation and focus. In the three weeks I’ve been training for the hurdles, not once did I feel the discouraging, stifling loneliness so prevalent last season. Once a week, I get to train within a stone’s thrown from my friends from the PPVC, Zed, the HyperSports crowd, and my high school coach. It was refreshing to have fellow athletes to talk to, aside from my imaginary friends. The difference in one’s temperament and outlook is astonishing.

In the past weeks, I’ve progressed dramatically. My confidence is at an all-time high. I’m dead set on competing at this year’s National Championships and doing well – with a little help from my friends.

4 responses to “With A Little Help From My Friends

  1. Jetric Paz February 24, 2012 at 3:27 PM

    Joboy, Jet (college Track Team captain, 2002) here. I stumbled upon your blog and I’m very impressed with your passion for the sport. I’m just commenting because you did mention that it was my brother, Zed, who persuaded you to train again. Good luck both of you and I’m sure that Zed must have mentioned that I would be visiting Manila next week from Vancouver… I’ll try to go with him to train for a few days and hopefully, I’ll see you and other track peeps. Reading your blog made me miss track so much more, I remembered the good times, as well as the disappointments from injuries and knowing that I could have done much more. But at the end of the day, there’s a smile on my face when I think of all the people I have gotten to know and befriended from track… I must say that the memories that track has given me would never grow old… even if I’m getting older, hehehe (I’m the proud Daddy of my 5-year old daughter). I’m sure you’d agree with me with this, just remember though that you can’t be at your peak forever, in the end, it’s the values that you’ll earn, and the people that you’ll share your track memories with that would be the most important.

    • hurdler49 February 24, 2012 at 9:23 PM

      Thanks, Jet! Kahit bihira kaming magkita ng mga teammates ko, pare-pareho pa rin yung pinaguusapan. Track experiences never get old. Btw, addict sa training si Zed.

      See you!

  2. Pingback: Wise Words From A Former Trackster « hurdler49: Hurdling the Real World.

  3. Zed Paz March 5, 2012 at 2:14 PM

    Training! I agree. We won’t and can’t be at our peak forever, but my firm belief is in the simple fact that we CAN and SHOULD be at OUR BEST forever. Walang tigil. Tuloy lang. Track and Field is not a sport, it’s a way of life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

