In my element (31 March 2011)

After last Saturday’s less-than-ideal hurdles workout, I was dead set on redemption. Whilst warming up in Ultra last night, I felt a noticeable spring in my legs. The nighttime air was energizing – in contrast to the stifling heat last weekend. There was a mild breeze blowing across the Pasig track, prompting me to don my trusty old Ateneo track & field warmer.

I spent a good 45 minutes warming up with drills, wind sprints and starts. When the floodlights were turned on, I immediately set the hurdles (a challenge since the blue marks denoting the hurdle positions were badly faded). In my five step warm-ups, I made it a point to focus on my errant trail arm, emphasizing a fluid yet snappy swing.

And boy did I feel fast! I was highly satisfied at my hurdling technique. I didn’t wobble from side-to-side or float over the barriers. The fact that I became of conscious of my trail arm action enabled smooth movement all throughout.

Once I was adequately warmed up, it was time for the main course. For the first time since I started three-step hurdles training, I went straight to junior hurdles. It was a relatively better workout, technically. More importantly, there was this exuberant bounce in each stride. Surprisingly, I didn’t have any problems with my starts (there was no hesitation or sudden braking jerks). The speed was noticeable!

However, my hurdling rhythm hasn’t reached optimal levels yet. Although the sprinting speed was adequate, there was a subtle sense of rawness when it came to the transition from sprinting to hurdling. Moreover, I was somehow jolted by the power in legs. In the final rep of the workout, my rhythm was thrown into disarray as I was jarred by the more than forceful impact of trail leg. I thought I felt pain emanate from right leg. My instinctive reaction was to immediately stop. After a few seconds of shaking off the purported shock, I heaved a sigh of relief at the false alarm!

I rested my legs and lungs for a good 10 minutes before proceeding to the sprint workout. Since it was almost 10:00 PM, I settled for a straightforward 2x150m workout. And boy did I feel fast yet again! I pumped my knees high all throughout, mindful of my leg speed and proper arm action. I didn’t ran out of juice as I did in the weeks before.

Had I had the luxury of time, I would have gladly stayed on the track to do more reps. Doing so would deprive my body of much needed recovery time. So I erred at the side of caution and simply kept my training time controlled.

It was the best workout I had in weeks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

